10 tips that are ACTUALLY effective for writing

http://thewritepractice.com/writing-an-essay/

 

Nicole post the above link to diigo this week, and just for fun I decided to check it out. I was first drawn to the name: Writing an Essay? Here are 10 Effective Tips. “Effective” and “tips” were two of my search words in the brainstorming process we undertook Wednesday. I was interested in the article because I knew it would be in list form, which I find more appealing to read. I cannot express how helpful this link was! Not only did it give me more methods to improve my writing, it mentioned skills I already use and find very effective. I will briefly write about a few list headings, what they were about, and how they became helpful to me.

 

  1. Your essay is just a story

This was all about having movement and growth throughout your essay—just like a story. Oftentimes I feel as though by the end of my writing I restate myself, or find myself painfully limping through the conclusion. Making sure the essay is crescendoing until the very end adds interest and shows a steady progression of thought that might otherwise be absent.

5. Be source heavy

I cannot emphasis this enough—sometimes the books we read can express our ideas better than we can. Embedding quotes throughout my essays has been a technique that I picked up this year, and I have found that it only serves to strengthen my essay with rich language and plentiful text evidence. It has strengthened my ability to relate the authors words to my own thoughts, as well as improve my MLA format skills for doing parenthetical citations.

9. Here are some words and phrases you don’t want to use

  • You (You’ll notice I use a lot of you’s, which is great for a blog post. However, in an essay, it’s better to omit the second-person.)
  • Clichés
  • Some
  • That
  • Things
  • To Be verbs

I’m still working on this one, because my essays can sometimes run rampant with to be verbs.

 

Overall a big thanks to Nicole! She managed to find an article that met a lot of my user criteria (List form, pictures, bold headings with short blurbs, very visually appealing) while still presenting a body of work with real potential to improve my writing. I definitely recommend any writer take a look at this article, and try to use these tips for their improvement.

 

