Frankenstein Diffusion

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 5.52.41 PM.png

“Command the thunders of heaven, mimic the earthquake, and even mock the invisible world with its own shadows.” (Shelley 27)

The first pattern I created was for Victor Frankenstein, and it is made from photographs of outer space. Throughout his work, Victor seeks to create the seemingly impossible by demystifying the many secrets of nature. These images of the heavens represent his quest to achieve god-like powers of creation, but they also represent the tragic fate he seems bound to. I decided to choose these images because they represented the scientific as well as the divine, two themes I find intertwined in Frankenstein. 

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 5.49.23 PM.png

“For the first time the feelings of revenge and hatred filled my bosom, and I did not strive to control them, but allowing myself to be borne away by the stream, I bent my mind towards injury and death.” (Shelley 16.12)

The Creature’s life is a constant turmoil between deciding if he is the monster people perceive him to be. From the moment he is created, his maker flees from him, and thus the creature lacks a knowledge of who he is or why he was created, and knows only fear and abandonment. Through his many negative experiences with humans, he is molded into a being of hate and violence who seeks nothing but revenge. I chose to a create a pattern out of cells, because they represent a blank slate of possibility and opportunity. The Creature was like these cells at one point, but after being influenced by his painful and tragic experiences he becomes warped into a being of evil.

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 5.51.07 PM.png

“Other lessons were impressed upon me even more deeply. I heard of the difference of sexes, and the birth and growth of children, how the father doted on the smiles of the infant, and the lively sallies of the older child, how all the life and cares of the mother were wrapped up in the precious charge, how the mind of youth expanded and gained knowledge, of brother, sister, and all the various relationships which bind one human being to another in mutual bonds.”  (Shelley 13.21)

Although this is a quote from the Creature, I believe it perfectly ties into the feelings of Walton because of their many other similarities. Both Walton and the Creature crave human connection and feel on the outside of their respective environments. I chose to create a leaf pattern because the veins reminded me of human veins, the physical and emotional pathways that form connections within our bodies. Both characters seemed in awe of the relationships and cyclical workings of life, and I wanted to create a pattern that would represent those pathways and connections.

